M.C. BEATON - The New York Times Bestselling author
Historical Romances
Writing under a variety of pseudonyms including her maiden name Marion Chesney, M.C. Beaton has published over 90 historical romances, mostly covering the Regency and Edwardian periods. These novels have been reprinted dozens of times, translated into a variety of languages, and are published in the UK by Constable and Robinson, along with nearly all of M.C. Beaton’s other titles.

The Poor Relation

One of London's most popular hotels provides a unique service for nobility – the novelty of being waited upon by members of their own class. Run by the blustery and sarcastic Sir Philip and the eccentric hoteliers' concerned mother hens, the still unmarried Miss Tonks and Lady Fortescue, the series hinges on the group's efforts to find suitable suitors for guests, to resolve the hotel’s solvency problems, and to triumph over the myriad of disasters that befall the hotel.

The School for Manners

The Misses Tribble, Amy and Effie, spinsters of a certain age, have lived for years on expectations of a great inheritance. When this fails to materialize, they are truly destitute. Desperate, they advertise that they will refine wild and unruly daughters, present them, and see them safely wed. The School for Manners six book series follows these two stalwart spinsters as they undertake enterprises of matchmaking and navigate the troublesome machinations of the London marriage mart.

The Regency Flame Series

Searching for lighter romances set in the English countryside? Look no farther than the Regency Flame Series, which features mistaken identities, botched marriages, witty heroines, and the courtship of prime Corinthians.

The Edwardian Candlelight Series

The Edwardian Candlelight Series chronicles young, passionate girls who come to understand the nature of true love despite overwhelming odds. From a penniless pauper, a stenographer, a governess to an accused murderess, these ladies in love overcome incredible odds with grit and sophistication to find and keep true love.

The Daughters of Mannerling

Raised in the most snobbish and haughtiest of families, six daughters are thrown into terrible circumstances when their father gambles away their fortune – including Mannerling, the exquisite family mansion. The sisters battle slimy suitors, malevolent spirits, and their own hearts to save the family estate and their inheritance.

The Regency Scandal Series

Ripe with disappearances, intrigue, dead husbands, and suspense, the heroines of the three Regency Scandal titles constantly find themselves embroiled in mysteries and murder. Only with the help of dashing suitors and daring schemes are the villains outwitted, the mysteries solved, and happiness achieved.

A House for the Season

It was the fashion during the Regency period to hire a house for the Season in Mayfair—the heart of London’s West End—at a disproportionately high rent for sometimes very inferior accommodation. But Number 67 Clarges Street, a quaint townhouse with a dubious past and lovably eccentric staff, turns over a number of intriguing tenants in this six volume series, replete with romance, intrigue, and mystery.

The Waverly Women

Unique and intriguing, the Waverly sisters sweep society with their radical feminist views and behaviors. The adopted daughters of the reclusive Madame Waverley, the three girls had been raised to spread the word of women’s rights and to encourage poor oppressed females to stand up against the iniquities of the male sex! But, can they resist love?

The Six Sisters

Six sisters navigate the murky waters of high society marriage mart, encountering intrigue, desire, jealousy and ultimately love. A young debutante, trouser-wearing huntress, envious wanna-be, disguised chambermaid, and flawless beauty all battle for love while protecting the family secret that threatens to unravel them.

The Regency Candlelight Series

The heroines of the Regency Candlelight Series set out to conquer London’s glittering high society and marriage mart. These headstrong women cannot help but keep London society dangling on a string, but will they find a husband or lose themselves in the game?

The Regency Season Series

The heroines of the Regency Season Series come from all walks of life. But whatever their origin, be it as an orphan, a tomboy, a ladies companion or a convicted criminal, what they all have in common is a complicated path to love.

The Regency Royal Series

When opposites attract, the romantic fires rage higher. So it follows in the titles of the Regency Royal Series when the seemingly most unusual and inappropriate matches are ultimately the marriages of passion and adventure.

The Travelling Matchmaker

A dead employer's legacy of £5,000 allows spinster Hannah Pym to resign from housekeeping and find adventure travelling the English countryside by stagecoach. But adventure soon finds Miss Pym in the form of runaway brides, spirited heiresses, and international refugees, who continue to test her expert matchmaking skills.

The Regency Intrigue Series

Ripe with disappearances, intrigue, sinister uncles, and suspense, the heroines of the eight Regnecy Intrigue titles constantly find themselves embroiled in mysteries and murder. Only with the help of a dashing suitor is the villain caught and the mystery solved.

The Ladies in Love Series

The Ladies in Love follows a series of young, passionate girls who come to understand the nature of true love despite overwhelming odds. From a penniless pauper, a stenographer, a governess to an accused murderess, the heroines of the Ladies In Love collection overcome incredible odds with grit and sophistication to find true love.

The Changing Fortunes Series

What could be more engaging than the women who rise from the commoner classes and minor nobility to triumph in the unforgiving society of Regency Period London. Read about women who have lost their fortunes, country girls at their first season, and new wives who can’t resist temptation in the nine titles of the Changing Fortunes Collection.