M.C. BEATON - The New York Times Bestselling author
01 January 2012
Happy New Year

Happy new year from all of us at MCBeaton.com. Looking ahead, 2012 will be a busy year.

February sees the hardcover launch of the latest in the Hamish Macbeth series, Death of a Kingfisher. When Scotland is hit by the recession, the Highland people are forced to come up with inventive ways to lure tourists to their sleepy towns. The quaint village of Braikie doesn't have much to offer, other than a place of rare beauty called Buchan's Wood. The savvy local tourist director renames the woods "The Fairy Glen," and has brochures printed with a beautiful photograph of a kingfisher rising from a pond on the cover. It isn't long before coach tours begin to arrive. But just as the town's luck starts to turn, a kingfisher is found hanging from a branch in the woods with a noose around its neck. As a wave of vandalism threatens to ruin Braikie forever, the town turns to Hamish Macbeth, whose investigation quickly turns from animal cruelty to murder.

July sees the paperback launch of the Agatha Raisin mystery, As The Pig Turns. Winter Parva is a “picturesque” (touristy) Cotswold village with gift shops, a medieval market hall, and thatched cottages. After a disappointing Christmas season, the parish council has decided to hold a special event in January, complete with old-fashioned costumes, morris dancing, and a pig roast on the village green. The rotary spit turning over a bed of blazing charcoals is sure to please on this foggy and blistery evening. But as the fog lifts slightly, the sharp-eyed Agatha notices something peculiar about the pig: a tattoo of a heart with an arrow through it and the name Amy. The “pig,” in fact, is Gary Beech, a policeman not exactly beloved by the locals, including Agatha herself. Although Agatha has every intention of leaving matters to the police, everything changes when the Gary’s ex-wife, Amy, hires Agatha’s detective agency to investigate — and another murder ensues. With that provocation, how could any sleuth as vain and competitive as Agatha do anything other than solve the case herself?

Writing under a variety of pseudonyms including her maiden name Marion Chesney, M.C. Beaton has published over 90 historical romances, mostly covering the Regency and Edwardian periods. The leading independent e-book publisher RosettaBooks is publishing these romances as e-books in the US. We've already added most of the titles to our US Historical Romances section, and we'll be adding the remaining titles shortly. UK readers won't be missing out - Constable and Robinson has already published the Travelling Matchmaker series in both paperback and e-book formats, and this March they will be launching the Six Sisters series in both formats.

We'll be bringing you more details throughout the year.

Out Now
Cover of Death of an Honest man
Nobody loves an honest man, or that was what police sergeant Hamish Macbeth tried to tell newcomer Paul English. Paul attended church in Lochdubh....
Cover of Down the Hatch
Agatha Raisin becomes embroiled in a turmoil of jealousy and lies when the tranquility of her local bowls club explodes into a storm of accusation and...

If you want to be kept up-to-date on all of the latest news, events, and book releases, sign up for our newsletter.